top of page

Japan 2016 - Osaka USJ Day 7


2016/07/12

First Stop: Universal Studio Japan

Today we are going to the long awaited Universal Studios Japan.

For those who don't know, during the summer season, USJ had a special event for the park's 15th anniversary called "Reborn", and the theme was to overdo everything possible. And along with said event, they launched a new ride called "The Flying Dinosaur" in respect to the movie Jurassic Park.

It was all over Japanese media and I have seen loads and loads of videos on it as well prior to visiting.

This was a new ride so of course it was very busy, I heard the lines would take up to 3 hours unless you hold an express pass. Which is pretty crazy imo.

In addition to the new ride, USJ also hosts a Harry Potter World within the park. Thus we were very excited to finally pay a visit.

The weather throughout our whole trip have been pretty amazing considering Asia during the summer season is usually filled with heat, sun, and storms. Unfortunately today was not the case :(

Since the early morning it was pouring rain...

It would be a hassle to walk around the park with umbrellas so we bought some character raincoats. (the only ones for sale lol)

Here's Elmo, Spider Man, and a gang of Snoopys hahaha.

I would say we look pretty cute ;)

Might I add, right after we came out of our first ride, the rain stopped...

But I guess these rain coats serve as great souvenirs?

*

Due to the times we chose for our express passes, we had to visit Hogwarts first.

On the way in, you could see Ron's uncle's car crashed into a tree. It would be really cool if we could sit inside, but it's just for display.

Here we make out way into the town of Hogsmeade.

It was an incredible sight, I really feel like I've stepped into the world of Harry Potter.

The buildings, the snow, the butterbeer haha.

& of course, the magic ;)

On the left at the end of the road would be Hogwarts...

And behold!

The castle was majestic. It certainly lives up to my expectations.

There was a certain time frame for entering for our express passes so we headed inside the ride Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey. In the castle we go!

It is truly the best feeling just entering the ride passing by rows and rows of people in the line. All thanks the almighty express pass haha.

excited!

Flight of the Hippogriff

After going on the two rides first, we have plenty of time to look around Hogsmeade before our next express pass session.

And when in Hogwarts, how can you not try some butterbeer!?

For those who are not familiar, don't worry there's no beer in this drink haha. It basically tastes like liquid creamy butterscotch with some pop infused in it. I don't know if that sounds appealing to you or not, but most definitely give it a try. It is delicious!

*

Then we proceeded to browse the shops...

dress Hermione wore to the dance

The Monster Book of Monsters

the Nimbus 2000

*

Honeydukes,

A lot of weird treats sold in here

Like the chocolate frogs,

The prank Jelly Beans I'm sure youv'e all heard about.

*

Ollivanders sells all the wands, I was really tempted to buy one but, I really have no use for it haha...

Just getting a little Hogwarts makeover at the gift shop :DD

Before leaving Hogwarts, we had another little treat,

Butterbeer ice cream, and I have no idea why, pineapple on a stick (that my mom wanted lol.)

The ice cream was good, but I still prefer the butterbeer over it.

& a mini trip to the washroom,

gave us a big surprise....

It looks exactly like the one in the movie!

On top of that, you could hear Moaning Myrtle talking in the background...

Pretty amazing amirite ;)

*

Now continuing to redeem our last express pass, we arrived at "The Flying Dinosaur" !!!

A brand new ride only at USJ, it's based off the movie Jurassic Park.

I've seen plenty of videos of people experiencing the ride, and to be honest I'm a little scared but also excited at the same time.

Here's a sneak peak if you've never heard of it:

Looks pretty darn crazy...

nervous :l

The ride felt extremely long, I think I had my eyes closed the whole time lol...

Obviously not recommended for everyone.

If your'e interested, make sure to get the express pass, unless you're willig to wait a looooooong time.

I heard from a friend, he waited a total of five hours to get on the ride ( 2 hours was due to a storm), but I mean time is money, so just dish out the money and you are sure to get on in less than half an hour :)

*

We went on a couple more rides then got really to watch the Reborn parade!

IMO, the parades are the best part to theme parks haha

My camera was actually running low on battery by this point, so I didn't have much pictures... such a shame.

This parade was amazing, very different from other ones I've attended.

There was a dance that went with the song they taught at the beginning of the show, it was very easy to learn, even if you didn't quite catch it the first time, I promise by the end of it you would have remembered lol.

*

We were famished by the time the parade ended, and thought to go pick up some food.

There was a One Piece themed fast food restaurant my brother wanted to go, it took us quite awhile to reach there... then to find out it's already closed ....

& it was only 4pm

I don't understand what kind of restaurant closes at 4 when the park itself opens until 8pm??

not feeling so content, we walked around a little more,

and stumbled upon attractions added exclusively for the Reborn event!

So instead of you know the regular sized vending machines, they decided to put up a "giant" sized machine. To buy you either have to jump very high or idk piggy back someone? haha It was pretty cool.

Ever have trouble finding your name on the coke bottle? Now's the time to customize your own! :D

They had these at home but I could never find one for my name so when I saw this, I immediately lined up.

In addition to your name, you could also add a date to commemorate a special day.

I am sad to say, I don't have the bottle anymore 😢

My mom drank the coke and threw it away... It was too late when i had found out...

*

Before we left USJ, we hopped into the souvenir shops once again

Everything was so colourful and adorable! ♥

I really wanted to buy one, but really I have no use for it lol

Saying goodbye to USJ,

Hello to food, Finally!!

*

Last Stop: Chibo 千房

For dinner, we went back to the Dotonbori area for some okonomiyakis!!

I think this blog has been long enough so, if you want to read this experience in detail please click here :)

***

Of course, any great theme park would deserve its own vlog!

Part 4 of the series: USJ ♥

 

♥ If you have any suggestions, questions or comments please let me know in the box below thanks :)

bottom of page