top of page

LA Trip 2015 Day 1


Day 1

Seeing as one of my friends have gotten back to blogging recently, I thought, hey maybe I should get started on mine, as I have been putting it off for months lol.

*

Okay! Lets do this!

A couple months ago, my roommate/friend and I decided to visit Los Angeles over the Christmas holiday, hoping to take a break from the cold, rainy winter here in Victoria.

It would be her first time visiting LA and also my first time staying solely in the city, so we were both super excited for the trip.

A month before, we booked our hotels, plane tickets, and did an adequate amount of planning, we were ready, just counting down towards the big day!

 

2015/12/13

Although there were some technical/weather difficulties the day before our departure, all ended well.

& after a good 2 and a half hours of flight…

Voilà!

landed in LA fresh and early ready to explore! :D

*

Upon arriving at LAX, we hopped on the Supershuttle we booked in advance and headed to our airbnb at the lovely Banja’s place around the downtown area.

& OFF WE GO!!

excited while waiting for the subway ;)
*

First Stop: The Line Hotel

We headed over to The Commissary for a late lunch at The Line Hotel. We saw lots of pictures upon arriving here and had great expectations for the green atmosphere at the restaurant & of course, ready to take a bunch of pictures ! (please excuse the resolution of the photos, in need of a new camera lols :l)

The Line Hotel

The interior was amazing, but such a shame it was pouring rain thus pretty gloomy.

the interior/patio

The food was a bit pricy, they all seem like they were better eaten as sides and not as a main dish. Nevertheless, it was delicious. The scallops were cooked perfectly, and the green curry sauce on the mussels were a first for me, but tasty as well.

When we finished, we found it to be raining heavily outside, and I have left my umbrella in my suitcase… just my luck. Didn’t want to miss out on our plans in the evening, we ran to the subways station and headed to Hollywood.

*

Second Stop: Hollywood Walk of Fame

Due to the rain and our bad timing, we found out the mall and most of the stores were closed... haha. So we made a decision to just stroll along in the rain exploring the walk of fame.

the man who created the happiest place on earth!

My feet were soaked (made the mistake of wearing flats ==), exhausted from the walking and the cold, we’ve come to a conclusion that its time for dinner.

*

Last Stop: In N' Out

Been waiting for this moment, finally we arrived at In N’ Out. Our first time at this Californian chain fast food, and I have to say it has lived up to all the hype. I was shocked to see the drive thru line all the way around the intersection and the line inside up to the entrance door, was there no where else to go at this time of the hour? After taking a bite of my burger I realized why, the vegetables were so fresh, unlike one of a fast food chain, and the best part, substituting a milkshake in place of a pop did not cost me a fortune! The experience was fantastic, the only downside was not ordering the animal fries and trying that out. :(

On the way home, we passed by the Disney Concert Hall and snapped a few pictures of the artistic building.

Walt Disney Concert Hall

Although the first day has been mildly chaotic in terms of the weather, it has been fun and productive and that is all that counts!

 

DAY 1 – THE LINE HOTEL, HOLLYWOOD WALK OF FAME, IN N’ OUT.

♥ For another perspective on this trip, make sure to visit -> Cutheties

♥ If you have any suggestions, questions or comments please let me know in the box below thanks :)

bottom of page